Both the McDonald County boys and girls cross country teams are headed to state as they turned in a huge performance at the Class 3, District 6 cross country meet at Southwest Baptist University on Saturday.

Both the McDonald County boys and girls cross country teams are headed to state as they turned in a huge performance at the Class 3, District 6 cross country meet at Southwest Baptist University on Saturday.

Both Mustangs teams came out of the district meet the same way they went in. The boys, seeded No. 1, escaped Bolivar 64-65 to win the 5K event, and the No. 2 girls finished second behind Bolivar 34-68.

"We needed all seven on our runners to put it together to get it done," Mustangs coach Darbi Stancell said regarding the boys race.

Mustang senior Caleb Littlefield is the district champion after winning the individual event in 16:59.80. Both Littlefield and teammate Connor Hackworth set personal records as Hackworth finished sixth in 17:27.45.
Other results for the boys were: 9, Connor Underwood 17:33.70; 18, Randall Buckner 18:06.67; 31, Wade Schmit 18:49.38; 33, James Walker 18:54.75; 35, Jacob Walker 19:20.20.

"Caleb ran a real smart, tactical race," Stancell said.

The girls were led by Faith Owens' sixth place run in 20:59.77. Yessy Domingues finished in 14th in 21:44.32 while Kylie Littlefield was 15th in 21:45.62. Other results for the Lady Mustangs were: 21, Dakota Bunch 22:34.18; 25, Cendy Garcia 22:44.48; 26, Makala Stephens 22:45.01; 27, Evelyn Martinez 22:49.03.

"This is the third time we've qualified our girls," Stancell said. "Their goal is also a top-eight finish. They've set their goals pretty high."
Seneca sends three

The Seneca Indians will be sending three individuals to the state meet as Meghan Hatfield and Lori Trone qualified on the girls' side along with Shane Murphy for the boys.

Hatfield finished as the Class 2, District 5 individual runner up as she placed second in 19:48.50. Trone just made the cut in 12th place with a time of 22:13.90.

Murphy took fifth in the boys' event in 17:24.30. Other runners for the Indians were: 23, Deven Hindbaugh 18:52.10; 41, Elias Roelfsema 20:03.30; 46, Max Couvreur 20:21.20; 48, Joshua Garcia 20:58.50; 49, Randal Kraft 21:05.40. 53, Chris Alexander 21:17.50.

Diamond qualifies two

Janzen White and Cady Littlefield qualified for state with good times at the Class 2, District 5 meet for the Diamond Wildcats.

Littlefield led the girls with a ninth place time of 22:07.80 while teammate Alyssa Longman missed the cut in 27th in 28:30.

White took eighth in 17:45.90 to lead the boys. Other results for the Wildcats were: 25, Logan Myers 19:00; 31, Nick Stephens 19:09; 52, Logan Hopper 21:14; 63, Alec White 26:11.20; 64, Dillon Myers 26:24.70.

Patriots take a trio

Emily Sorrell, Abby Burris and Owen Bennion are all three going to state for the East Newton Patriots after solid performances in the Class 2, District 5 event.

Sorrell led the Lady Patriots with a third place time of 20:13 while Burris brought home 14th in 22:43.60. Missing the cut for the Lady Patriots were: 16, Caitlin Mann 22:52.40; 19, Dana Palmer 24:02.60; 30, Dusti Nabors 32:34.70.

Bennion just made the cut with a 12th place time of 18:01.40. Also competing for the Patriots at the district meet were: 21, Zach Watson 18:35.10; 27, Max Sullivan 19:01.40; 34, Jacob Patterson 19:21.80; 37, Luke Hansen 19:30.70; 42, Jarom Carter 20:03.70.

Neosho qualifies a pair

As noted on Sunday, the Neosho's Garrett Wood and Amber Bates both qualified for the state event.

Saturday's 2012 MSHSAA Boys and Girls Cross Country Championships are set to take place at Hough Park's Oak Hills Golf Center in Jefferson City. Parking for the event is limited, but the Jefferson City Convention and Visitors Bureau will operate a free shuttle bus during the meet for fans. The busses will run continually during the event, and fans are encouraged to utilize the shuttles.

The first bus runs from 7:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. and the second from 8:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Admission for the event for age 6-above is $7 while children under five get in free. The race schedule is: Class 3 girls (9 a.m.); Class 4 boys (9:35 a.m.); Class 3 boys (10:05 a.m.); Class 4 girls (10:35 a.m.); Class 2 boys (11:10 a.m.); Class 1 girls (11:45 a.m.).