Neosho High School FFA students received some good news on Friday at the state contest in Columbia, Mo.

COLUMBIA — Neosho High School FFA students received some good news on Friday at the state contest in Columbia, Mo.

“We took six teams and five teams finished in group one,” NHS FFA advisor Mike Aldrich said. “Horses finished 11th, soils finished eighth, horticulture finished eighth, agronomy finished seventh and forestry  won it. This is the first time that Neosho has had a state champion forestry team.”

The high school’s forestry team —  Zayne Aldrich, Megan Jones, Nik Manley and Kaitlyn Sage — competed against 45 other chapter forestry teams from across the state. Maddie Garren also served as the alternate on the team.

They competed on Friday morning, found out they had won that afternoon and were recognized that evening.
Prior to getting to the state contests, the high school’s forestry team placed fifth in district competition.
“The forestry team will [next] get to go to nationals and everyone else, they are done,” Aldrich said. “The nationals will be held in October at Louisville, Ky.”

As far as how proud he is of his students, Aldrich said, "I am pretty tickled for what they did. I am really, really pleased with them."

Additional results from the state FFA competition were:

• Floriculture team, consisting of McKenna Burris, Amanda Gannan, Mariah Lauthern and Carli Supiran finished eighth, group one.

• Agronomy team, made up of Colton Bailey, Molly Geary, Ryan Ivey and Karrie Shields, finished seventh, group one.

• Soils team, including Zachary Aldrich, Basil Brockman and Nate VanDorn, took eighth place, group one.

• Livestock team, including Kate Anderson, Laken Bolten, Shelby Scroggins, and Jesse Shilling, finished 17th, group one.

• Horses team, made up of Tazjia Blythe, Hunter Davis, Trenton Vaughn, and Cheyenne Walker finished 11th, group one.

• Nate VanDorn won star farmer in placement from Area 11

• Kate Anderson, Megan Jones and Ethan Talley received proficiency awards

• Zachary Aldrich, Kate Anderson, Maddie Garren, Kyle Griffith, Dalton Harris, Megan Jones and Nate VanDorn received state FFA degrees.