PECULIAR — The Neosho cross country teams’ seasons came to an end Saturday in the Class 4, District 6 meet hosted by Raymore-Peculiar High School.

In a loaded field that included Lee’s Summit West, Ray-Pec, and Webb City, as well as Belton, Smith-Cotton and Joplin, none of the Wildcats or Lady Wildcats finished high enough in the individual standings to qualify for sectionals.

On the boys side, Neosho sophomore Cooper Hayes finished 36th overall with a time of 18 minutes, 22.52 seconds. Oliver Bopp and Nate Wimpey, a junior and a sophomore respectively, finished 47th and 48th in 18:52.30 and 18:53.24, respectively.

Additionally, senior Preston Ford finished 68th in 20:46.62, sophomore Jeremy Brown 70th in 20:57.61, and freshman Jeremiah Enlow 74th in 21:49.46.

The Wildcats undoubtedly featured one of the youngest lineups in the field.

Webb City senior Ryan Riddle won the individual sweepstakes in 15:54.45, a good 33 seconds faster than Lee’s Summit West senior Ben Burnett.
Lee’s Summit West and Webb City both managed four runners in the top 10, but Lee’s Summit West came away with the team crown because of higher finishes and lower points.

McDonald County managed a pair of sectional qualifiers in sophomore David Lazalde and senior Alex Guadarrama, who finished in 21st and 24th, respectively, at 17:41.89 and 17:46.79.

Other McDonald County finishers include sophomore Jackson Behm 46th in 18:51.9, sophomore Garrett Spears 55th in 19:17.02, sophomore Elijah Habert 61st in 19:33.44, sophomore Tyler Moritz 66th in 20:18.30, and Bryce Berryhill 73rd in 21:34.85.

On the girls side, no runners from Neosho or McDonald County advanced past districts.

Neosho sophomore Destiny Colston and senior Kylie Ropp finished 49th and 50th, respectively, with times of 23:36.49 and 23:44.30, while freshman Makayla Hall placed 53rd in 24:05.61. Hanna Lett, a junior, finished 69th in 32:34.78, as the Lady Wildcats’ four runners were one short of qualifying in the team standings.

Addy Mick, a sophomore, led McDonald County in 40th at 22:55.03 and the other Lady Mustangs were junior Natalie Staib 55th in 24:21.28, senior Andrea Creason 67th in 28:55.56, senior Istarlin Adan 68th in 29:49.94, and sophomore Tyler Walker 70th in 32:51.44.

Team results, boys: Lee’s Summit West 29, Webb City 49, Joplin 91, Raymore-Peculiar 121, Carthage 136, Smith-Cotton 160, Willard 196, Belton 204, McDonald County 206, Neosho 266, Republic 314.

Team results, girls: Raymore-Peculiar 25, Lee’s Summit West 42, Webb City 86, Joplin 92, Carthage 134, Republic 168, Willard 192, Smith-Cotton 216, McDonald County 266.