Last week, at a Football Luncheon held at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in Springfield, the Aurora Football Program was officially inducted in the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame.

The designation recognized each and every player and coach, both past and present. Each received a plaque inscribed with their name. Attendance at the event was near record, with more 1,000 present.

The honor was based on the successful achievements during the history of the football program, one that includes three State Championships (1965, 1969 and 1999.)

The Aurora Houn’ Dawgs Football Program ranks among the state’s best. In addition to the three state championships, the Houn' Dawgs have had 13 playoff berths, including a state semifinal berth in 2015. Along the way, Aurora won nine district championships (1980, 1981, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1999, 2002, 2003) and 10 conference championships

1960, 1962, 1963, 1965, 1980, 1981, 1988, 1992, 1999, 2000). The 1965 team finished the season ranked No. 1 in the state and featured All-State selections in Bruce Huey, Bob Journagen and Stan Rinker. The 1969 team was coached by “Hoss” McCallister and finished 11-1, winning the Class 2 state title in a 13-6 victory against Malden.

Aurora’s 1999 team won the Class 3 state championship under coach Pat Woods and finished 14-0, with its final victory being a 7-0 win against California. Since 1953, Aurora has seen roughly 50 players earn All-State honors.

"It was another great day to be a Houn' Dawg," Billy Redus, Superintendent of Schools, said in a statement he issued. "A special thank you goes out to the Aurora Houn' Dawg Football Alumni Association for making it possible for the current football player players to attend the event. Congratulations to all who are a part of the Houn' Dawg Football Family."