HARRISONVILLE — In a tournament where six teams earned over 600 points, the Seneca Indians earned the Harrisonville Christmas Tournament title by being the only team over 700 points.

Seneca finished with 717.5 points, followed by Mexico at 691, Carthage 680.5, Raymore-Peculiar 644.5, Ste Genevieve 638, and Monett 604.5.

Seneca posted six top four individual finishers, led by individual champion Kale Schrader (195 pounds), runner-ups Levi Connelly (106), Max Roark (132) and Dayton Fields (152), third place Dalton Hembree (138), and fourth place Cole Hatfield (160).

Schrader won seven matches to improve to 17-0 overall this season. He pinned Willard’s Aaron Schuerger in 45 seconds, William Chrisman’s Elijah McFall in 1 minute, 5 seconds, Warrenton’s Brady Weir in 31 seconds, Harrisonville’s Trevor Campbell in 3:40, Mexico’s Hale Fuemmeler in 1:38, and Raymor-Peculiar’s Joey Stalone in 3:14 en route to the finals. In the championship match, Schrader won a 7-2 decision against Rockwood Summit’s Evan Brooks.

Connelly won every match Friday and Saturday, until a 4-1 loss to Monett’s Joseph Semerad (17-1) in the finals. Connelly improved to 16-2 overall. Connelly won a 2-0 decision against Carthage’s Dagan Sappington, a 3-2 decision against Camdenton’s Grant Garrett, and another 2-0 decision against Willard’s Christian Finley. Additionally, Connelly pinned Marshall’s Gavin Mills in 1:09, Mexico’s Carter Maxwell in 29 seconds, and Ste. Genevieve’s Jacob Dickens in 1:00.

Like Connelly, Roark won every match until he was pinned by Mexico’s Dylan Patton in 1:29 in the finals. Roark won a 6-5 decision against Helias Catholic’s Zack Carr, pinned St. Charles West’s Trent Busby in 40 seconds, pinned Belton’s Michael Biondo in 1:04, pinned Willard’s Ryder Heimbach in 2:47, won a 16-4 major decision against Van Horn’s Preston Murphy, and won a 2-0 decision against Monett’s Elias Barrientos. Roark improved to 15-2 overall.

Fields took his first loss of the season in the finals against Belton’s unbeaten Joe Biondo, Biondo pinning Fields in 1:50. Fields, however, won his first seven matches of the tournament: pins of Mexico’s Blayne Wieberg in 57 seconds, Ste. Genevieve’s Noah Ogden in 58 seconds, St. Charles West’s Allen Tinker in 48 seconds, and Cameron’s Jacob Drager in 1:15, and then decisions over Grain Valley’s Taylor Huwar 3-1, Willard’s Jed Brandon 7-1, and Helias Catholic’s Jackson Careaga 5-4.

Hembree lost his first match of the season, a 3-0 decision against Pleasant Hill’s Chance Sullivan in the semifinals. Hembree rebounded though with a 5-0 decision against Monett’s Gunnar Bradley for third. Hembree also won a 12-3 major decision against Camdenton’s Gabe Blain and pinned St. Charles West’s Brenden Marshall in 2:52, Cameron’s Grant Thompson in 57 seconds, Carthage’s Anderson Ixcol in 3:03, and Raymor-Peculiar’s Zach Brown late in the third period at 5:58.

Hatfield won five of his first six matches of the tournament before a 5-3 loss to Warrenton’s Jerrett Villinger in the semifinals and a loss by pin to Raymore-Peculiar’s Mason Pratt for third. Hatfield pinned Marshall’s Sebastian Colbert in 1:16, Van Horn’s Angelo Ramirez in 58 seconds, Rockwood Summit JV’s Jack Rubelman in 1:23, and Cameron’s Zack Zinkand in 1:04, and won a 5-0 decision against St. Charles West’s Trevor Hachtel. Pratt beat Hatfield twice on the day, with a 7-3 decision in the fourth round.

Seneca returns to action December 29 and 30 in the Diamond State Duals hosted by Springdale Har-Ber (Arkansas).

Team results — Seneca 717.5, Mexico 691, Carthage 680.5, Raymore-Peculiar 644.5, Ste. Genevieve 638, Monett 604.5, Willard 581, Rockwood Summit 557, Belton 550, St. Joseph Benton 528, Grain Valley 520.5, Harrisonville 516.5, Marshall 477.5, St. Charles West 469, Cameron 440, Helias Catholic 423, Warrensburg 419, Webb City 407.5, Van Horn 388.5, Pleasant Hill 386.5, Camdenton 381, William Chrisman 358, Warrenton 355.5, North Kansas City 344.5, St. Charles West JV 107, Belton JV 70, Harrisonville JV 56.5, Monett JV 35, Helias Catholic JV 25, Rockwood Summit JV 25, Van Horn JV 25, Benton JV 19, Cameron JV 13, Marshall JV 10.