In the regular season, McDonald County junior Cooper Reece averaged a double-double and this solid work scoring and rebounding the basketball produced a selection to the all-Big 8 Conference first team.

Reece was flanked on the first team by Lamar senior Ian Moore, Mount Vernon senior Kyle Bushman, Aurora senior Matt Miller, and Monett junior Gavin Carr.

Reece averaged 15 points and 10 rebounds per game for the Mustangs, who reached the semifinals of the Class 4, District 10 tournament.

In a 56-53 win over Benjamin Banneker in the Neosho Holiday Classic, Reece hit two free throws with 14.1 seconds remaining on the clock and in 21 minutes, playing through four personal fouls, Reece produced a game-high 22 points and six rebounds, two assists, two blocked shots, and four steals in 21 minutes.

“A lot of times today he had an advantage in different places,” McDonald County head coach Kyle Fields said after the game. “He played really well today. Used his body well, rebounded well, and was able to do some good things.”

McDonald County junior guard Blake Gravette earned second team.

Mount Vernon junior Kelly Vaughn, Seneca senior Gavin Dunnam, Cassville junior Ethan Hoppes, East Newton senior Dustin McDermott, and Mount Vernon sophomore Cale Miller joined Gravette on the second team.

In a 75-74 double overtime win, Dunnam led four Seneca players in double figures with 20 points and throughout the season, Dunnam gave big performances in big games.

“You mentioned Gavin Dunnam,” Seneca head coach Will King said after the Neosho win. “He’s such competitor and he’s a kid that’s started since he was a freshman. This year, he’s one of our leaders, he plays with a lot of confidence, and he’s a tough guard because he can score in multiple ways as he proved tonight.”

Dunnam helped Seneca to a 15-12 season and a Class 3, District 12 semifinal appearance.

East Newton freshman Connor Killion, Monett junior Jackson Spencer, Lamar sophomore J.D. Bishop, Cassville sophomore D.J. White, and Lamar senior Garrett Morey earned honorable mention.

In the final game of the season, a 94-84 overtime loss in the district tournament to Stockton, Killion hit for 32 points and nine 3-point goals.

Lamar head coach Tyler Ryerson and Moore won coach and player of the year, respectively.

On the girls side, the Seneca Lady Indians picked up a second team for Taylor Mailes and a honorable mention for Sarah Hoover.

East Newton senior Kinsey Sorrell joined Mailes on the second team and McDonald County’s Meagan Mills joined Hoover as honorable mention.

Mount Vernon junior Cameron Call and head coach Dusty Killingsworth earned player and coach of the year honors, respectively.





Ian Moore, Lamar

Kyle Bushman, Mount Vernon

Matt Miller, Aurora

Cooper Reece, McDonald County

Gavin Carr, Monett



Kelly Vaughn, Mount Vernon

Gavin Dunnam, Seneca

Ethan Hoppes, Cassville

Dustin McDermott, East Newton

Blake Gravette, McDonald County

Cale Miller, Mount Vernon



Connor Killion, East Newton

Jackson Spencer, Monett

J.D. Bishop, Lamar

D.J. White, Cassville

Garrett Morey, Lamar


Player of the Year: Ian Moore, Lamar

Coach of the Year: Tyler Ryerson, Lamar




Cameron Call, Mount Vernon

Caitlin Hicks, Mount Vernon

Madi Stokes, Cassville

Darrah Bartlett, Lamar

Katelyn Mooney, Lamar

Kaesha George, Monett



Lacy Stokes, Mount Vernon

Taylor Mailes, Seneca

Kaylee Huffman, Aurora

Hallie Long, Cassville

Kinsey Sorrell, East Newton



Alyssa Williams, Monett

Meagan Mills, McDonald County

Camryn Eldridge, Mount Vernon

Emily Moore, Aurora

Hallee Doss, Lamar

Sarah Hoover, Seneca


Player of the Year: Cameron Call, Mount Vernon

Coach of the Year: Dusty Killingsworth, Mount Vernon