The Neosho Wildcats, between their girls and boys teams, picked up four selections to the all-Class 5, District 12 basketball team.

On the girls side, Neosho seniors Makayla Hayes, Caitlyn Jordon, and Allison Burr made the grade and fellow senior Brady Wise earned all-district on the boys side.

Hayes took player of the year honors.

On the season, Hayes tallied averages of 16.4 points, 6.7 rebounds, 2.5 assists, and 2.84 steals, and her defensive prowess included 134 deflections and 18 charges taken. On the offensive side, Hayes showcased her improved 3-point shooting skills with 34 made 3-pointers on the season — she shot 41.4 percent (94 for 227) from the field, 35.1 percent (34-97) from 3-point range, and 66.4 percent (119-179) from the free throw line en route to 409 points her senior season.

Jordon averaged 8.7 points, 5.6 rebounds, nearly two assists, and just over a steal as a senior. She hit over 50 percent of her shots from the field (64-121) and finished 71.2 percent (48-67) from the stripe. Jordon added 60 deflections and a team-high 15 blocked shots.

Burr averaged 9.7 points, 3.04 rebounds, and 1.8 steals her senior season with 29 3-point shots and 46 free throws on the season. Burr shot nearly 78 percent from the line and on the defensive side, she had 42 deflections to go with her steals.

Wise averaged 18.7 points, 3.7 rebounds, 2.7 assists, 1.7 steals, and 0.5 blocks per game in his senior campaign.

Wise scored in double-digits in 21 of the team’s 26 games, despite opponents focusing a lot of their scrutiny (and men) toward No. 3 every game. Wise scored a career-nigh 33 points in an 83-49 win over East Newton and his night started out on the bright side with a slam dunk off an alley oop by teammate Cole Seward.

Wise also had seven rebounds and five assists against both Cassville and Memphis Middle College, and had four steals against both Seneca and Middle College.




Makayla Hayes, Neosho

Bryce Manes, Republic

Kelsey Biro, Nixa

Emily Edwards, Nixa

Megan Branstetter, Republic

Caitlyn Jordon, Neosho

Halli Bartelsmeyer, Republic

Hailey Fullerton, Carthage

Bissett Michaelson, Nixa

Allison Burr, Neosho


Player of the year: Hayes, Neosho



Broc Smith, Republic

Drew Canady, Nixa

Evan Guillory, Joplin

Brady Wise, Neosho

Nathan Elmer, Nixa

Austin Higdon, Joplin

Kaleb Wofford, Nixa

Arkell Smith, Carthage

Hunter Creek, Republic

Zach Westmoreland, Joplin


Player of the year: Smith, Republic