Nearly a week after being selected by the Milwaukee Brewers in the fourth round of the 2018 MLB Draft, former Crowder pitcher Aaron Ashby earned All-American first team honors Monday from the NJCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

Both Ashby and fellow sophomore pitcher Zach Jackson have now earned All-American honors after the recent season.

During his sophomore campaign, Ashby put up some ridiculous numbers that garnered serious attention and were mentioned when the Brewers selected Ashby with the 125th overall pick.

Ashby posted a 11-2 overall record with a 2.29 ERA, but it was the strikeout numbers that attracted astonished reactions — 156 strikeouts over 74 2/3 innings, or 18.80 strikeouts per nine innings. Ashby led NJCAA-I in both strikeouts and strikeouts per nine.

At one point in the season, Ashby threw three no-hitters over a span of four starts.

In Ashby’s 13 starts, he recorded a season-high 17 strikeouts during an eight-inning gem against Mineral Area in a Region 16 tournament elimination game at historic Joe Becker Stadium.

Saving the best for last in a Crowder uniform, Ashby reached double-digit strikeouts in his last five starts. Overall, he recorded double-digit strikeouts in 10 outings. Also, keep in mind that a good number of his starts were shortened by Crowder run-rule victories.

Iowa Western’s Sean Chandler and Monroe’s Antonio Frias joined Ashby as the pitching arms on the first team.




P: Aaron Ashby, Crowder

P: Sean Chandler, Iowa Western

P: Antonio Frias, Monroe

C: Conrado Diaz, Trinidad State

IF: C.J. Alexander, State College of Florida

IF: Austin Henry, Walters State

IF: Joey Polak, Jefferson

OF: Mark Castelblanco, Clarendon

OF: Luis Pelayo, Connors State

OF: Alex Peterson, Cowley

DH: Colton Burgess, Connors State



P: Landon Knack, Walters State

P: Yusniel Padron, Miami Dade

P: Blake Rivera, Wallace State

C: Colton Onstott, Dodge City

IF: Phil Archer, Olney Central

IF: Bryan Lavastida, Hillsborough

IF: Michael Lawson, Panola

IF: Hunter Wolfe, Walters State

OF: Juston Dunnam, Coastal Alabama-South

OF: Cole Ercher, South Georgia

OF: Andrew Eyster, Santa Fe

OF: Tyler Leichenborn, Iowa Western

DH: Oraj Anu, Wallace-Dothan



P: Cole Ganopulos, Chattahoochee Valley

P: Zach Mainor, South Georgia

P: Braden Scott, Olney Central

P: Dylan Steen, Southern Idaho

C: Josh Breaux, McLennan

IF: Joseph Locascio, Kishwaukee

IF: Andrew Miller, Grayson

IF: Bryan Sturges, Howard

IF: Malik Williams, Johnson County

OF: Dylan Harris, Walters State

OF: Andrew Morrow, Fort Scott

OF: Alerick Soularie, San Jacinto

DH: Angel Colon, New Mexico Military Institute



Sean Roby, IF, Arizona Western

Joseph Nahas, P, Chesapeake

Dayan Reinoso, IF, Chesapeake

Andrew Grogan, P, Chipola

Max Guzman, C/IF, Chipola

William Hollis, OF, Cisco

Alex Palmer, P, Cisco

Erik Dabrowski, P, Cloud County

Rafael Vasquez, IF, Florence-Darlington

Indigo Diaz, P, Iowa Western

Grant Miller, P, McClennan

Jacob Candleberry, P, San Jacinto

Gunner Halter, SS, Seminole State

DeShawn Lookout, OF, Seminole State

Dalton Reed, IF, Seminole State

Hayden Latham, OF, Southern Idaho

Blake Mattey, OF, Trinidad State

Eric McGirt, OF, USC Sumter