Nearly the entire lineup of the Seneca Lady Indians earned first team, second team or honorable mention when the Big 8 Conference West Division released its inaugural postseason honors.

Seneca earned five overall selections and the East Newton Lady Patriots earned three with one player each first team, second team, and honorable mention.

Seneca senior Sarah Hoover and junior Haley Miller made first team, senior Taylor Mailes and junior Jessica Gorham second team, and senior Dayton Merriman honorable mention.

Hoover led the Lady Indians with 179 kills and her other stats included 162 digs, 13 total blocks, and 25 service aces.

Miller proved versatile with 175 kills (.327 hitting percentage), 197 digs, 37 total blocks, and 18 aces.

Mailes finished with 132 kills (.364 hitting percentage), 27 solo blocks, 55 total blocks, and 99 digs.

Gorham distributed the ball on 576 Lady Indian points this season and she averaged 8.9 assists per set. Her other numbers included eight kills, 59 digs, and 27 aces.

Merriman tallied 118 kills, 10 total blocks, and 28 aces.

East Newton’s Kaitlyn Massey (first team), Madison McDermott (second team), and Shelby Guinn (honorable mention) represented the Lady Patriots.

Massey tabulated 165 kills, 213 digs, 145 assists, and 31 aces during her senior campaign, despite missing the last few matches down the stretch.

McDermott put together 161 kills and 53 solo and 64 total blocks to be one of the most intimidating presences around the net in the area. She added 120 digs, 46 assists, and 21 aces, especially taking on a larger role in Massey’s absence.

Guinn, one of seven seniors on the East Newton roster, came through with 279 assists, 203 digs, 93 kills, and 26 aces, proving herself to be another versatile player for the Lady ‘Pats.

Nevada senior middle blocker Sydney Ernsbarger earned top player honors and she had 205 kills and 43 solo and 82 total blocks for the 25-8 Lady Tigers. Nevada’s season ended in the Class 3, District 13 semifinals with a 2-1 loss to Oak Grove (13-25, 26-24, 25-21).

Nevada head coach Ashley Thoreson earned top coach honors and the Lady Tigers definitely made their impact on the conference in their first season.




Sydney Errnsbarger, Nevada

Adrian Bond, Nevada

Sarah Hoover, Seneca

Lauren Compton, Lamar

Bri Hemphill, Cassville

Kaitlyn Massey, East Newton

Haley Miller, Seneca



Stacey Pennington, Nevada

Taylor Mailes, Seneca

Ryen Wilhite, Lamar

Madison McDermott, East Newton

Jessica Gorham, Seneca

Avery Brown, Cassville

Hailey Jackson, Nevada



Laney Coonrod, Nevada

Sharayah Seymour, Cassville

Shelby Guinn, East Newton

Lizzy Davison, Lamar

Dayton Merriman, Seneca

Lindley Ferry, Nevada

Morgan Popanz, Cassville


Player of the Year: Sydney Ernsbarger, Nevada

Coach of the Year: Ashley Thoreson, Nevada