Neosho senior Madison Flynn singlehandedly spearheaded a 8-0 scoring run early in Thursday night’s Central Ozark Conference contest that earned the Lady Wildcats a 12-all score against the Nixa Lady Eagles.

However, Nixa went on to outscore Neosho 49-17 the rest of the contest en route to a 61-29 victory. The Lady Eagles outscored Neosho 24-11 alone in the third quarter, extending their lead to 22 points entering the fourth, and they enjoyed a 18-0 run before Neosho scored its final points.

Neosho stood at 6-17 overall and 0-8 COC entering Monday’s regular season finale against the two-win Joplin Lady Eagles. The Lady Wildcats lost six consecutive games entering Monday, all of them by at least 15 points, and Neosho had not scored more than 30 points since 46 in a victory against McDonald County.

Joplin entered Monday with a 2-20 overall and 0-7 COC record.

On Thursday, Flynn led Neosho with 16 points — she netted 12 of the team’s 16 points — and she had five rebounds and three steals.

Mary Dunbar and Michelle Lindsay added five and four points, respectively.

Maile Gindling matched Flynn with five rebounds and Brylee King matched Flynn with three steals. Dunbar added four rebounds and Gindling two assists.

Neosho shot 40 percent overall from the field (12-30) but 27 turnovers, of course, cost the Lady Wildcats, many of which created scoring opportunities for the Lady Eagles.

The Lady Wildcats are 1-15 in their 16 last games against Nixa.

Emily Edwards led Nixa with 15 points, Raegan Thomason added 11, and Tori Yantis picked up nine, as the Lady Eagles improved to 18-7 overall.

Between Tuesday’s game against Webb City and Thursday’s against Nixa, Neosho found out that it will be the No. 4 seed in the upcoming Class 4, District 12 tournament and will open against rival McDonald County, a team Neosho’s beaten twice in the regular season (55-50 in overtime, 46-42 on Homecoming) and won against five straight games overall.

Neosho and McDonald County play Saturday in Webb City.

The other seeds in the district are No. 1 Carl Junction, No. 2 Webb City, No. 3 Monett, and No. 6 Cassville.