The Neosho Wildcats played for their first district title in 16 years and the Wildcats earned two selections to the all-Class 4, District 12 team released Monday, senior forward A.C. Marion and senior guard Cole Seward.

Marion led Neosho in scoring with 14 points per game and he added four rebounds per night. He was consistent scoring the basketball nearly all season — starting with 11 points against Seneca on December 14, Marion reached double-digits in points 18 of his last 19 high school games.

Marion earned all-tournament honors in the Neosho Holiday Classic, thanks to performances like 26 points against Lamar and 31 points against McLain Science & Tech, both career highs. Marion later reached 28 points against Branson in Central Ozark Conference play.

Seward, who played his first two seasons at Class 3 Diamond, averaged 8.1 points, 3.4 rebounds, 2.7 assists, and 1.1 steals, leading the Wildcats in assists.

Seward tallied a season-high 19 points twice, once in the ‘Battle at Pea Ridge’ against Berryville and then in his final high school game against Webb City. He grabbed eight rebounds in back-to-back victories against East Newton and McDonald County, dished out a season-high six assists against Willard, had a pair of steals in nine different contests, and picked up two of his six blocked shots this season in a game against Frontenac where Seward had nine points, five rebounds, five assists, and two blocks.

McDonald County standout Cooper Reece averaged 20.7 points and 9.5 rebounds during his senior campaign, proving himself to be one of the best players in the area and region.

Reece showed his force in the district tournament with back-to-back dynamo performances against Monett and Webb City.

Reece scored 28 points and the duo of Reece and fellow senior Boston Dowd combined for 49 in a quarterfinal victory over Monett.

Reece had 25 points, seven rebounds, two assists, and two blocks against top seed and district champion Webb City.

Carl Junction senior Trent Smith earned top player and Webb City head coach Jason Horn took top coach honors.

Webb City fell 63-52 to state-ranked Logan-Rogersville in the Class 4 sectionals.



Trent Smith, Carl Junction

Terrell Kabala, Webb City

Alex Gaskill, Webb City

Cooper Reece, McDonald County

A.C. Marion, Neosho

Ethan Hoppes, Cassville

D.J. White, Cassville

Tanner Rogers, Webb City

Trevon Price, Monett

Cole Seward, Neosho

Jackson Spencer, Monett


Player of the Year: Trent Smith, Carl Junction

Coach of the Year: Jason Horn, Webb City