Diamond junior forward Ben Moreland earned second team for the inaugural Southwest Conference postseason boys basketball honors.

Moreland averaged 11.8 points, 7.9 rebounds, 1.8 blocked shots, and 1.3 steals per game, in helping the Wildcats finish 7-17 overall and 2-5 in conference play. Diamond improved by three wins from the previous season.

Moreland scored a season-high 24 points against East Newton and some of his other best offensive nights included 23 against Southwest, 18 against Crane and Marionville, and 17 against Mount Vernon in the district tournament.

Moreland grabbed a season-high 13 rebounds against Marionville and Miller and secured 12 boards against Monett and Sarcoxie. He made four steals against McAuley Catholic, Miami, and Southwest and swatted away five shots in back-to-back outings against Walnut Grove and East Newton. Moreland also had four blocks against Galena (twice), Crane, Pierce City, and Sarcoxie en route to 43 total rejections.

Marionville senior Gavin Stanton took player of the year honors, while Pierce City head coach Matt Street won coach of the year.

Stanton helped lead the Comets to a district title after upset victories over top seed Crane (semifinals) and No. 2 Verona (championship).



First Team

Gavin Stanton, Marionville

Jackson Kleiboeker, Pierce City

Josh Goodman, Marionville

Joel Kleeman, Miller

Michael Misner, Sarcoxie


Second Team

Aaron Garner, Pierce City

Ben Moreland, Diamond

Colton Highfill, Pleasant Hope

Haydon Kisling, Sarcoxie

Draven Ziegler, Ash Grove


Honorable Mention

Laythen Utke, Marionville

Presten Richardson, Miller

Kyle Renkoski, Pierce City

Max Schnelle, Lockwood


Player of the Year: Gavin Stanton, Marionville

Coach of the Year: Matt Street, Pierce City