Winners namd in city council, school board races

Lee Ann Murphy
Community Editor
Neosho's new elected council member is Tyler DeWitt.

In Tuesday's election, there were two local races with seats on both the Neosho City Council and the Neosho Board of Education.

In the race for a single 3-year term on the Neosho City Council,

Tyler DeWitt won with 739 votes. Current council member Jon Stephens came in second with 578 votes and contender Clyde Hopper had 478 votes.

DeWitt is currently the Operations Manager for the Lowe’s in Neosho. He also owns I also am the DeWitt Custom Homes, which specializes in high-end custom homes and spec homes. He has lived in Neosho most of his life, for the past 35 years.

In the race for three seats on the Neosho Board of Education, four contenders were narrowed to three winners. Incumbents Kim Wood and David Steele both won, Wood with 2366 votes and Steele with 1901. Melissa Wright, Neosho, won the third seat with 2,226 votes. Kevin Butler, the other candidate, had 1,560 votes.